Word 2007 – Keeping Table Rows in One Page

Thanks to Microsoft Office (especially Word 2007) for making simple things difficult. I thought keeping a table on one page should be simple, but I was wrong. Thanks to this tutorial, I knew what I have to do. However, the tutorial is for Word 2003 and before. The technical details of the tutorial still applies to Word 2007, but the procedure has changed. So, below are the steps on how to format the table so that it is on one page (or view this tutorial video) .  

  1. Click inside any table cell and then right click and select “Table Properties” from the popup menu. 
  2. In the “Table Properties” dialog box and under the “Row” tab, uncheck the “Allow row to break across pages” box.
  3. Now, select all the rows except the last one. Navigate to the “Home” Tab of the Word 2007 and click on the drop down button in the “Styles” Panel and select “Apply Styles” Option.
  4. In the “Apply Styles” dialog box, click on “Modify” Button.
  5. Finally, in the “Modify Style” dialog box, click on “Format” button and select “Paragraph” and then click on “Lines and Page Break” tab. 
  6. Lastly, check-on the “Keep With Next” and “Keep Lines Together” checkboxes.

About Ritesh Agrawal

I am a applied researcher who enjoys anything related to statistics, large data analysis, data mining, machine learning and data visualization.
This entry was posted in Tips, Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Word 2007 – Keeping Table Rows in One Page

  1. Rob Jones says:

    I don’t mind rows breaking over a page, I want to stop Word (2000) tables automatically starting a new row on a new page. I’m putting a lot of text into each cell so some rows occupy more than a page maybe only 2 or 3 lines or so then the next row automatically starts on a new page leaving acres of blank space. I have tried the tutorial mentioned above – no joy

    • Anonymous says:

      This is a different problem that the one the author was trying to fix. In your case, you would want to do the opposite in step #2, and CHECK the box for “Allow row to break across pages”. That is, if it’s an option in Word 2000.

  2. John says:

    Thanks for the tips. Word has so many features that even after using it for 2 years, I still need help on things like this.

    Still think the ribbon was a mistake though.

    • ragrawal says:

      Hi John
      same here. I have used word for almost 4 years and still stumble with problems for which I don’t know the solution. However, I have a different opinion about ribbon from yours. I think ribbon has done a good job of externalizing some hidden features, especially styles. Previously I never used styles to format my document and end up wasting lot of time trying to have consistent format. However, with styles formatting is no more issue.

  3. Praveen says:

    When I click on the Modify button, the Modify Styles page doesnt open up. I had to do the above keeping table rows in one page thing for many docs. For some it randomly opens the Modify Styles page and for some it does not. Weird! I am so tired now. Please help.

  4. Jon says:

    That’s so intuitive. Thanks, Microsoft.

  5. Matt says:

    Thank you so much. I was about to beat my head against the wall. I’m glad we are so “advanced” with Word 2007. I could work so much easier and faster on WordPerfect 5.1 about 12 years ago. If only the WordPerfect folks had teamed up with Lotus 1-2-3 about a dozen years ago we wouldn’t be in this mess with Bill Gates.

  6. jankalab says:

    Thanx for the very clear procedure. The video makes it even better. It is striking to see the many actions it takes to get something this ‘simple’ done.

  7. Elena says:

    Thanks so much – I almost gave up fixing the table.

    Modifying the styles did not work for me though. But I selected the table and then unticked “keep with next” box in ”paragraph” tab.

    and it worked!!!

  8. Deb says:

    Thank you, thank you, there have been many suggestions on how to fix this problem on the net. This is the only one that has solved my problem after 2 hours of trying. I am very grateful!!!! Cheers

  9. Rjc says:

    Found you on Google… this helped tremendously. I’ve spend hour trying to do this in the last few weeks and thought Step 1 would have accomplished it, but clearly not. Word and PPT have expanded to be “all things to all people” and with that Ribbon in 2007 and 2010, it really punishes professional power users like me.

  10. Girl, lost in IT says:


  11. Jim says:

    Well done – simple and effective. I had to use the tutorial video to find the styles drop down box but not a hitch.

  12. mario says:

    There’s actually a shorter route to the paragraph window. Instead of going to the Styles panel in step 3, click the drop down button in the Paragraph panel and skip to step 6.

  13. Mrs A says:

    thankyou thankyou thankyou

  14. leslie says:

    To me, these instructions were really confusing and didn’t work. What I did was choose all the rows, right click, choose “table properties,” clicked on the “row” tab, and unchecked the box that says “allow row to break across pages.” Easy!

  15. Vinitaa says:

    Thanks for the solution. But this does not work when the same word doc is converted to pdf. The rows of the same table spill over to next page in pdf. How can I resolve this issue.

  16. Tim Lindsay says:

    Thank-you very much for this!

  17. globac says:

    Thanks. I think it’s time for the programmers of Word to be given a simple task – write something of size of diploma thesis – say 50 – pages with graphs, pictures and equations. Some behavior really suggests that they never tried to work with it.

  18. Ciprian says:

    Ritesh, many thanks for the tutorial!

  19. Serdar says:

    Thanks for the solution. But this does not work when the same word doc is converted to pdf. The rows of the same table spill over to next page in pdf. How can I resolve this issue.

  20. Jainlal says:

    Great!..Thanks . It is working nice.

  21. Janet says:

    Thank you for this – it did help. I also discovered that you can avoid a lot of these steps though by simply selecting the entire table, click on the Home tab, under Paragraph, click on the “Show Dialogue Box” icon (to the right of the word Paragraph), and then make sure that “Widow/orphan control” and “Keep with next” are the only two selections checked – you can unselect or reselect the others even though they are grayed out.

  22. I truly love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did
    you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own personal site and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Kudos!

  23. student says:

    This is literally the only explanation of how to keep a table on one page that I have found! Thank you for writing this!

  24. Laurie says:

    Thank you! 5 years on and this post is still helping people. This tutorial saved me time and a headache.

  25. TheQLover says:

    Dear Ritesh Agrawal: Thank you so very much for this incredibly helpful, easy-to-follow advice. You saved me so much time, effort and frustration and I cannot thank you enough. Job VERY well done on this topic. I discovered one thing that may be helpful to others and to add to your brilliant instructions: If you have a reoccurring header in the table, make sure you do not select the header in step 3, as it prevents the technique from working at all. I repeated all steps after not selecting the the first and reoccurring “header” and the last row (as you instructed), and it worked like a charm; however, when I selected the header and NOT the last row, it failed. Thank you so very much… you are a great global community resource and embody what this technological world lacks — effectual help, graciousness and generosity!

Leave a Reply

